• ROCKY MOUNTAIN
    COUNSELING OFFICE
    Office Hours: 7:00am-3:30pm
    Counselors & Nurse available from 7:10am-3:10pm 

    Phone: (208) 350-4340
    Fax: (208) 350-4368

    During this time of remote learning, please contact your counselor by email as this is the most reliable way to contact us.

    Please click here or go to "Counseling Resources" under the "Counseling" tab for a list of available resources.

    Dear Rocky Families,

    More than anything, we are reaching out to let you know we are thinking about all of 
    you, our students and families. These are uncharted waters, and we are committed to standing by you. We are all experiencing the questions and the unknown. We know there are questions about online learning and its demands, requirements toward graduation, testing, prom, and the graduation ceremony. We are certain that some of these questions will be answered in the short term, and some answers we will have to wait for together; however, we want to remind you that we are here for you! The RMHS Counseling staff is available for academic, social/emotional, and post-secondary planning. Students and parents are free to reach out to us through email, as this is the most reliable way to contact us.

    Heather Ginn (A-C) ginn.heather@westada.org
    Michelle White (D-H) white.michelle@westada.org
    Rhiannon Trull (I-M) trull.rhiannon@westada.org
    Yvette Melbihess (N-Sh) melbihess.yvette@westada.org
    Cris Kerns (Si-Z) kerns.cris@westada.org
    Sierra Teseo (College/Career A-I) teseo.sierra@westada.org
    Rae Peppley (College/Career J-Z) peppley.rae@westada.org
    Steve Filer (Drug Prevention Specialist) filer.steve@westada.org
    Tara Piper (Registrar) piper.tara@westada.org
    Rachel Erickson (Secretary) erickson.rachel@westada.org
    Leslie Bryan (IDLA/Career Center Coordinator) bryan.leslie@westada.org
    Clarissa Drexler (Assistant Registrar) drexler.clarissa@westada.org
    Tami Dusenbury (504 Coordinator) dusenbury.tami@westada.org

    Students and parents can also access our websites for up to date information and other resources.

    Main Counseling page – https://www.westada.org/domain/4948
    College/Career page – https://www.westada.org/domain/6777

    Because remote learning is significantly different from what students are used to, we 
    know that there may be some anxiety about school in the coming weeks. Some students may become overly worried about their grades and focus all their energy on school. Some students may have trouble focusing on school and struggle with motivation. They may also feel socially isolated since they are not able to see their friends. Over the coming weeks, there may be an increase in anxiety, anger, fear, or protest that they can’t do things normally - it will happen. This is normal and to be expected in these strange circumstances. What students need right now is to feel comforted, loved, and know that everything is going to be okay. This might mean that families stray from a perfect schedule and love on one another a bit more. Go on walks, bake, play video and board games, and watch movies. Take virtual field trips, look at colleges online, start a book together and read as a family, or snuggle under warm blankets and do nothing. Please remember that we are ALL supposed to be practicing social distancing. Students really shouldn’t be hanging out with their friends in person right now, but many of them are experts at technology and social media! This can put other parents in bad situations when they won’t let their children go out with friends. Remember, this is temporary! They will be able to hang out with their friends in person soon!
    We also realize that this is stressful for both students and parents as we all try to navigate an unprecedented health situation. Please find attached some resources that may help.

    Free Resources - https://www.calm.com/blog/take-a-deep-breath?utm_source=lifecycle&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=difficult_times_nonsubs_031720

    How to talk to your Child about Covid-19 -
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/14ygMDfTe6tA9z68F4IEWnXlS4waDbeMR/view

    Community Resources – Dial 211 from an Idaho phone or visit https://211.idaho.gov


    Food Assistance – https://idahofoodbank.org/getfood/


    Housing Assistance – Dial 211 from an Idaho phone or call Our Path Home at (208) 495-4240


    As always, please feel free to reach out to us with any questions or concerns that you may have. If we do not know the answer, we will try and find it for you. We miss seeing all our students at school each day and can’t wait to get back. In the meantime, please take care of yourselves and stay safe! 

    RMHS Counseling Office Staff