Jami Cureton

Phone: 208-855-4050 ext. 1568

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Graduate of BSU (GO Broncos!) and US Army Veteran Certified in American History, Humanities and Russian Partnered with Susan Ochoa - English Teacher Extraordinaire! Here's the link to her website! https://www.westada.org/Domain/2441

Jami Cureton

Attention AP Students!  Here is the updated information on the AP US History test:

U.S. History

Test date and time

Exam Date: May 15

  • Hawaii Time: 8 a.m.
  • Alaska Time: 10 a.m.
  • Pacific Time: 11 a.m.
  • Mountain Time: 12 p.m.
  • Central Time: 1 p.m.
  • Eastern Time: 2 p.m.

Exam timing

Students will be given 45 minutes to read and respond to Question 1 and then 5 minutes to upload their response.

Questions

Question 1 (45 mins.)

% of exam weight (rounded)

100%

Question name

Modified Document-Based Question (DBQ)

Question description

This question presents students with 5 historical sources, 1 of which will be a non-text-based source. This question assesses students’ ability to:

  • Respond to the prompt with a historically defensible thesis or claim that establishes a line of reasoning.
  • Describe a broader historical context relevant to the prompt.
  • Support an argument in response to the prompt using at least 4 documents.
  • Use at least 2 additional pieces of specific historical evidence (beyond that found in the documents) relevant to an argument about the prompt.
  • For at least 2 documents, explain how or why the document’s point of view, purpose, historical situation, and/or audience is relevant to an argument.
  • Use evidence to corroborate, qualify, or modify an argument that addresses the prompt.

Corresponding free-response question (FRQ) type in the course and exam description binder

Modified Document-Based Question (DBQ). The prompt for the 2020 modified DBQ may be derived from any of Units 3–7, and will include 5 documents (instead of 7). The rubric will be lightly modified to match the reduced number of documents, awarding 1 point for using 2 documents and an additional point for using 4 documents. An additional point will be awarded for effectively incorporating a second piece of outside knowledge into the argument. Students can earn up to 2 points for sourcing (1 point for each document).

Units eligible for 2020 exam

Units 1–7

Units not included in 2020 exam

Units 8–9

Make-up test date and time

Date: June 3

  • Hawaii Time: 6 a.m.
  • Alaska Time: 8 a.m.
  • Pacific Time: 9 a.m.
  • Mountain Time: 10 a.m.
  • Central Time: 11 a.m.
  • Eastern Time: 12 p.m.