Attendance & Tardies
ATTENDANCE PROCEDURESIdaho law requires any person under sixteen years of age be enrolled in school. State law also requires each school district to establish an attendance policy. The Middle School Attendance Policy can be found in Appendix E of the handbook.1. When a student is absent from school a parent or guardian should call the school by 10:00 a.m. that day with the following information:a) parent or guardian's nameb) student's namec) reason for absenced) estimated date of return2. If no call has been made the student must provide the main office with a note from a parent or guardian stating the reason and dates of the absence. After 48 hours, unverified absences will be noted as a truancy3. Students who arrive at school after the first tardy bell should report to the main office to sign in.4. Students are allowed three (3) absences per class period during the semester. Students who receive four (4) absences in any class will lose credit unless cleared by the attendance office as extraordinary within five (5) days of the absence. Verbal communication must come from a parent/guardian within 48 hours of the absence to prevent truancy.5. The following absences count against a student’s total of three (3) absences: Illness (Ill), Out of School Suspension (OSS), Parent Call (PRC), Truancy (TR), Unverified (A), Verified (VER)Attendance Phone Line: 208-855-4252 Please use our attendance line to report any of your student absences or request a permit to leave!!! If you get the attendance voicemail, please leave a message, as the attendance secretary checks it regularly.ATTENDANCE POLICYThe laws of the State of Idaho require all youth to attend school regularly until the age of sixteen (16). Regular and consistent attendance is necessary for maximum student learning. It is the responsibility of the parent/guardian to aid school authorities in enforcing this attendance policy.
Students are allowed three (3) absences per class period during the semester. Students who receive four (4) absences in any class will lose credit unless cleared by the attendance office as extraordinary within five (5) days of the absence. If a student exceeds four (4) absences, the student will need to follow an appeal process with their Vice Principal. Regular and consistent attendance is an indicator of success in school and is necessary for maximum student learning and success! Please plan your vacations around the school schedule. (Please see 2016-2017 district-wide calendar on school website.)EXCESSIVE ABSENCESIf a student is absent for fifteen (15) consecutive school days, whether or not the absences are verified, the student will be dis-enrolled from school. At the time the student returns to school, the student may be re-enrolled. Students served by homebound tutors or absent due to illness documented by licensed medical personnel will not be included in this procedure.MAKE-UP WORKAfter an absence, it is the student’s responsibility to communicate with the teacher for make-up work. The student must complete and turn in work within a reasonable time in accordance with the teacher’s late work policy.
PERMITS TO LEAVE CAMPUS (PTL)
If it is necessary for a student to leave campus, they must obtain a permit to leave from the attendance office. Failure to secure this permit will result in a major truancy as stated in the school handbook. In order to facilitate a student’s release, the Attendance Office needs at least one (1) hour notice. A parent or guardian must call the attendance office prior to the absence. Notes will not be accepted. Please be advised that NO Permits to Leave Campus will be made and NO students will be called out of class after 2:20pm.
A student will be marked tardy if they are up to ten (10) minutes late. On the second unexcused tardy and all subsequent tardies, a student will be required to attend a designated detention(s). Loss of credit can occur if detentions are not served.
No Tardies will be excused without a note (Doctor, Dentist, Orthodontist, Counseling, Court Appt., etc.)
When students arrive to class after ten (10) minutes they will be marked Tardy Late (TL). A tardy late is not counted as an absence but is disciplined as part of the tardy policy. Tardy lates carry an hour of detention time.
LUNCHTIME TARDY POLICY
- After your 3rd tardy:
- 4th Tardy: Lunch detention
- 5th Tardy: Possible suspension and loss of lunchtime off campus privileges
- Further tardies will require a meeting with parents, and grade level principal, and possible loss of parking permit.
- Off campus permission can be reinstated by your Assistant Principal after requested by student.
TRUANCYTruancy is defined as a student being absent without approval of his/her parents, guardian, or school officials. Truancy occurs when:1. an unauthorized phone call is made;2. an unauthorized note is sent to school;3. the parent refuses to excuse an absence;4. the student leaves school without permission to leave;5. the student is in the building, but is out of class without permission.Full-day truancies or single-period cuts will result in a parent contact or conference. Students declared truant may be assigned to Saturday School, the Safe School suspension room, or after school detention to make up the time they have missed. A third truancy may result in suspension.
All visitors must check in at the main office and receive a visitor badge in order to visit with faculty or students. Every attempt will be made not to interrupt classes or to take students out of class. Non-students or former students must make an appointment BEFORE coming in. We encourage parents to make an appointment with teachers before or after school. CHS students may NOT bring in a visitor; our classrooms cannot accommodate extra people. Students from other high schools are not allowed to visit with students at CHS during the academic day.
You have 2 weeks to serve detention for tardies…if detention time is not served within 2 weeks of the tardy, your name will roll into Mandatory Saturday School. Students who fail to attend their Mandatory Saturday School will be placed on the NC – No Credit list for that class, and the counselor will contact the student for Summer School retake.
- After your 3rd tardy: