Return to Headlines

West Ada Schools Fill Top Three Spots for IHSAA's 5A Schools of Excellence

May 29, 2018 - The Idaho High School Activities Association is pleased to announce the 2017-2018 winners of the "Schools of Excellence" program. This yearlong, voluntary program in which schools earn points based on their studentathletes’ performance in athletics, academics and sportsmanship is the top award for the IHSAA and its member schools. The top three schools in each classification with the best overall programs will be recognized at the IHSAA Annual Meeting, August 1st.


2017-18 "Schools of Excellence"

5A Rocky Mountain High School Mike Hirano, Principal; Troy Rice, AD

  • 2nd place – Eagle High School
  • 3rd place – Mountain View High School


4A Bishop Kelly High School Mike Caldwell, Principal; Tom Shanahan, AD

  • 2nd place – Twin Falls High School
  • 3rd place – Century High School


3A Sugar-Salem High School Jared Jenks, Principal; Jay Miller, AD

  • 2nd place – Shelley High School
  • 3rd place – Snake River High School


2A Declo High School Roland Bott, Principal; Kelly Kidd, AD

  • 2nd place – Ririe High School
  • 3rd place – McCall-Donnelly High School


1A Div I Prairie High School Jon Rehder, Principal; Travis Mader, AD

  • 2nd place – Oakley High School
  • 3rd place – Genesee High School


1A Div II Community School Matt Barnes, Principal; Richard Whitelaw, AD

  • 2nd place – Deary High School
  • 3rd place – Lighthouse Christian High School


The three major areas of high school activities are weighted equally in determining recipients of the award.

  • The Academic Component is based on the varsity team's cumulative GPA as submitted on the State Academic Champions application for all IHSAA sponsored sports/activity programs.
  • The Performance Component is based on place of finish at IHSAA-sponsored state championships and activity program competitions.
  • The Citizenship Component is based on a school's self-evaluation of their citizenship/sportsmanship activities as submitted on an itemized form. Deductions are made by the IHSAA for player and/or coach unsportsmanlike ejections and also for unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments.


In addition to the primary awards, schools that score 90% on the Citizenship Component and have no player/coach ejections throughout the year or incidents of unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments will receive an "Award of Excellence" certificate. The 2017-2018 Award of Excellence schools are Rocky Mountain, Eagle, Post Falls Meridian, Bishop Kelly, Vallivue, Sugar-Salem, Weiser, South Fremont, Ririe, McCall-Donnelly, St Maries, Salmon, West Jefferson, Prairie, Genesee, Community School, Deary, Lighthouse Christian, Logos, and Garden Valley.


Press release provided by Idaho High School Activities Association