Return to Headlines

Galileo and Barbara Morgan Teachers Honored with Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

Children in Science Lab Coats and Goggles June 27, 2018 – Galileo STEM Academy teacher Sue Darden and Barbara Morgan STEM Academy teacher Lynnea Shafter have recently been honored with the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) – recognition that takes them to the White House to meet with members of the country’s administration in the upcoming months. While in Washington, D.C., Darden and Shafter are invited to an awards ceremony where they each receive a presidential citation and $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.


"On behalf of the White House I am honored to express the Nation’s gratitude for the tireless dedication that these men and women bring to educating the next generation of scientists, engineers, and mathematicians,” said Michael Kratsios, Deputy Assistant to the President for Technology Policy. “Each day more and more jobs require a strong foundation in STEM education, so the work that you do as teachers and mentors helps ensure that all students can have access to limitless opportunities and the brightest of futures."


The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, with the National Science Foundation, awarded more than 140 individuals and organizations as recipients of PAEMST and similar awards. These individuals and organizations represent schools in all 50 states, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the U.S. territories.


Presidential award for K-12 teachers

Established in 1983, PAEMST is the highest award kindergarten through 12th grade mathematics and science (including computer science) teachers can receive from the U.S. government. The award alternates years between kindergarten through sixth grade and seventh-12th grade teachers. This year, on the award's 35th anniversary, kindergarten through sixth grade teachers will be honored.


Nominees complete a rigorous application process that requires them to demonstrate their excellence in content knowledge and ability to adapt to a broad range of learners and teaching environments.


A panel of distinguished mathematicians, scientists and educators at the state and national levels assess the applications before recommending nominees to OSTP. Teachers are selected based on their distinction in the classroom and dedication to improving STEM education.



Please visit the PAEMST website for more information.