Return to Headlines

Twelve West Ada Students Named Idaho's Presidential Scholar Candidates

February 4, 2019 – More than 50 Idaho high school seniors from throughout Idaho are in the running as candidates for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, according to the national committee that organizes the program on behalf of the White House.


“Idaho can be proud that so many bright, accomplished young men and women made the cut to qualify for this elite scholarship program,” Superintendent of Public Instruction Sherri Ybarra said. “It represents hard work, commitment and excellence from our schools and teachers as well as our students.”


Candidates are selected for earning top scores on the SAT and ACT exams and also are evaluated for leadership and involvement in their schools and communities. All have been notified by email and will have until Feb. 26 to submit full applications for the prestigious honor.


Semifinalists will be announced April 17, and two top students – one male and one female – from each state will ultimately be selected on May 7. The Presidential Scholars will travel to Washington, D.C., June 23-25, where they will meet the president and have an opportunity to interact with distinguished scholars from around the country during three days of ceremonies, activities and forums. More information about the program and its history can be found at: Idaho students selected as candidates for this year’s honor are:


  • Peyton E. Badger, Meridian - Mountain View High School
  • Puja Batchu, Boise - Centennial High School
  • Sarrah Belhadj, Eagle - Centennial High School
  • Megan Boyce, Kimberly - Kimberly High School
  • Anthony C. Brar, Boise - Boise High School
  • Keenan G. Bryan, Idaho Falls - Idaho Falls High School
  • Brendan M. Bundy, Kuna - Meridian High School
  • Hyrum D. Cannon, Ammon - Hillcrest High School
  • Abigail S. Chen, Boise - Boise High School
  • John J. Chen, Boise - Centennial High School
  • Karson M. Chrispens, Hayden - Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy
  • Megan E. Clements, Rigby - Rigby High School
  • Scott D. Dayton, Boise - Boise High School
  • Luke B. Dean, Hailey - Wood River High School
  • Andrew Every, Boise - Boise High School
  • Crista M. Falk, Coeur D Alene - Lake City High School
  • Barrett Fuller, Meridian - Meridian High School
  • Ian Hadrick, Boise - Timberline High School
  • Joseph B. Hall, Ketchum - Community School
  • Kayson T. Hansen, Twin Falls - Twin Falls High School
  • Rachel C. Harris, Idaho Falls - Idaho Falls High School
  • Sabrina R. Hatt, Rexburg – Home school
  • Katelyn A. Hettinga, Kuna - Kuna High School
  • Kara M. Hunter, Boise - Centennial High School
  • Catherine R. Ji, Meridian - Capital High School
  • Theodore A. Knoll, Boise - Timberline High School
  • Catherine S. Knothe, Boise - Boise High School
  • Andrah Lake, Emmett - Emmett High School
  • Benjamin A. Lambert, Hayden - Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy
  • Dahsong Lee, Boise - Boise High School
  • Rachel Y. Liu, Eagle - Eagle High School
  • Anthony Luo, Boise - Boise High School
  • D - Blake W. Magnuson, Eagle - Renaissance High School
  • Adele Marchiando, Sandpoint - Sandpoint High School
  • Aidan M. Mcintyre, Boise - Capital High School
  • Lydia Mcroberts, Lewiston - Lewiston High School
  • Catherine K. Merrill, Boise - Borah High School
  • Madeline Metcalf, Lewiston - Lewiston High School
  • Michael W. Min, Boise - Centennial High School
  • Khoi A. Nguyen, Boise - Timberline High School
  • Ashton M. O'Connor, Boise - Centennial High School
  • Christopher Patrick, Boise - Boise High School
  • Paige Rasmussen, Pocatello - Highland High School
  • Maya S. Redden, Idaho Falls - Compass Academy
  • Thomas E. Ricks, Boise - Timberline High School
  • John C. Shieh, Boise - Centennial High School
  • Leah E. Smith, Nampa - Skyview High School
  • Abraham K. Stucki, Nampa - Skyview High School
  • Hailun Wang, Boise - Timberline High School
  • Jonathan W. Webb, Coeur D Alene - Science Academy of South Texas
  • Alec R. Weber, Meridian - Capital High School
  • Catherine Wells, Meridian - Kolbe Academy
  • Quinn A. White, Boise - Boise High School
  • Toriana J. Wilson, Coeur D'Alene - Lake City High School
  • Sabrina Zerrade, Boise - Timberline High School
  • Grace Zhu, Boise - Boise High School


Press release provided by Idaho State Department of Education