Return to Headlines

Rocky Mountain, Eagle High Schools Earn IHSAA's School of Excellence Award

The Idaho High School Activities Association is pleased to announce the 2020-2021 winners of the "Schools of Excellence" program, sponsored by the Idaho Army National Guard. This yearlong, voluntary program in which schools earn points based on their student-athletes’ performance in athletics, academics and sportsmanship is the top award for the IHSAA and its member schools. The top three schools in each classification with the best overall programs will be recognized at the IHSAA Annual Meeting, August 4th.


5A Rocky Mountain High School Mike Hirano, Principal; Troy Rice, AD
2nd place – Timberline High School
3rd place – Eagle High School


4A Bishop Kelly High School Mike Caldwell, Principal; Tom Shanahan, AD
2nd place – Twin Falls High School
3rd place – Century High School


3A Kimberly High School Justin White, Principal; Kirby Bright, AD
2nd place – Sugar-Salem High School
3rd place – Timberlake High School


2A Bear Lake High School Luke Kelsey, Principal; Michael Wilding, AD
2nd place – Melba High School
3rd place – Ririe High School


1A Div I Prairie High School Jon Rehder, Principal; Travis Mader/Kim Schumacher, ADs
2nd place – Oakley High School
3rd place – Glenns Ferry High School


1A Div II Sun Valley Community School Kevin Campbell, Principal; Richard Whitelaw, AD
2nd place – Dietrich High School
3rd place – Carey High School


The three major areas of high school activities are weighted equally in determining recipients of the award.

  • The Academic Component is based on the varsity team's cumulative GPA as submitted on the State Academic Champions application for all IHSAA sponsored sports/activity programs.
  • The Performance Component is based on place of finish at IHSAA-sponsored state championships and activity program competitions.
  • The Citizenship Component is based on a school's self-evaluation of their citizenship/sportsmanship activities as submitted on an itemized form. Deductions are made by the IHSAA for player and/or coach unsportsmanlike ejections and also for unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments.


In addition to the primary awards, schools that score 90% on the Citizenship Component and have no player/coach ejections throughout the year or incidents of unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments will receive an "Award of Excellence" certificate. The 2020-2021 Award of Excellence schools are Rocky Mountain, Eagle, Mountain View, Skyview, Bishop Kelly, Century, Ridgevue, Wood River, McCall-Donnelly, Filer, Bear Lake, West Jefferson, Cole Valley Christian, Prairie and Glenns Ferry.


Press release provided by Idaho High School Activities Association.