National Honor Society (NHS)

NHS Logo

Members of NHS meet the second Tuesday of every month before school in the auditorium at 7:00am. This year’s President is Jack Wolthius, and the President Elect is Samantha Thompson. Other officers include: Shannon Cambron (Senior Representative), Taylor Schreiner (Junior Representative), Hannah Brugger (Relay for Life), Joe Aydelotte (Historian), Natalie Dewitt (Read with Me), Payton Price (Settler's Park Movie Night), Darby Knudsen (Linder Road Clean-up), Joey McKinney (Christmas Family), Ethan Thomas (Hunter PTA), and Morgan Polfer (Zoo Boise).

Membership in National Honor Society is not automatic. Membership is offered to qualifying sophomores and juniors on an invitation-only basis. In the spring, all sophomores and juniors who have a 3.7 cumulative gpa are given a letter of invitation. If they choose to, they complete a Student Activity Form. They are also required to provide recommendation forms to six individuals (three core teachers, two elective teachers, and one individual of their choice - counselor, coach, advisor, community member). These forms must be turned in by a specific deadline for the student to be considered for membership. A five-member Faculty Council (selected by the Principal) carefully review Student Activity and Recommendation forms. Once students are selected for membership by a majority vote of the Faculty Council and approved by the Principal, students are sent a Letter of Selection. An Induction Ceremony will take place in May. All two-year members of NHS who have met all requirements specified in the Chapter Bylaws, will wear a stoll at graduation and will also receive an NHS letter.

Chapter Bylaws

Bylaws of the Rocky Mountain NHS Chapter.

The Rocky Mountain High School NHS Chapter functions under a single national constitution which is the primary source for policy information for all chapters. For more information about the National Constitution, please visit The attached Rocky Mountain Chapter Bylaws (above) have been adopted and approved by a majority member vote and Faculty Council vote.

Service Hours Log